Additional (OPTIONAL) Law Resources

As promised, below are some helpful and interesting resources related to law.  These are resources that I use regularly (I read the Wrightslaw blog at least once a week while I eat my lunch).  I want to stress that these resources are optional.  Everything you need to know as a classroom teacher, I have a taught you in class.  These resources are for those of you who are thinking about special education as a career or who are curious about reading more.

As always, let me know if you have questions or points you would like to discuss.  If you find other resources you would like to share with your classmates, I hope you will send them to me!

Here is the link to the NH DOE’s Special Education site.   If you scroll down, you will see that on the left is a link to access a PDF of the special education rules (like the printout I showed you in class).

Here are the rules around procedural safeguards in special education:

My favorite place to read about Special Education court cases and generally stay up-to-date on special education law: http://www.wrightslaw.com/.  This site also has a lot of helpful resources for parents and families.

For those of you who need some review on the branches of government and how laws get made (bonus-lesson plans for your class), click here.

Check out this interesting blog post about limiting access to advanced classes for students who are on plans.

Leave a Reply

